In Memory of John Stahle

…and the angels, as they passed / whispered to me, “Loved at last. ”

– from “Gay at Eton: Digby Mackworth Dolben,” a piece by John Stahle which would have appeared in Ganymede #9.

John, you will be missed, but the beauty you put into this world is immortal. You’ve been swooped up by the talons of Zeus and have taken your place as cup-bearer to the gods… Ginsberg, Whitman, Wilde, Norse… I can’t help but picture you smiling.

About Bryan Borland

Poet. Editor. Publisher.
This entry was posted in John Stahle. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Memory of John Stahle

  1. Gennadi Maryash says:

    I just found out about John Stahle’s death from Bryan Borland’s email several
    hours ago, and I am shocked and saddened beyond words.
    I knew John for about ten years, and in the last three we became very good friends. I loved John for his erudite knowledge of seemingly everything: literature, history, art, architecture, design, science, politics and economics, for his warmth, for his wit, for his writing style, and of course his love of gay ‘dish’. I looked forward to our regular cultural outings in New York City usually followed by ‘din-din’ at a diner with plenty of stimulating conversation… I will miss John dearly. I already do.

  2. Jee Leong Koh says:

    John Stahle is dead

    Talk. Fleshy jowls. Boys with ambition to publish. A call on Craigslist for cultivated homos. Moved with dad all over Europe from base to military base. Separate checks. Blowing his bench-pressing boyfriend. The Gnostic Gospels. It is a perfect scandal, he says, that for the lack of funds MoMA blocks off a whole level in its last renovation.

  3. I post the following in my latest blog post and thought I would share it here as well:

    I never met John, but I spoke to him many times through email. I’ll never forget submitting my poems to Ganymede. John required that you not only send your poems, but also your photo. My poems were accepted within 30 minutes. This is no exaggeration. I have never been accepted in a journal quicker. He responded saying, “cute picture, this will do just fine.” He was kind, organized, and willing to promote young gay men and their poetry. Being published in Ganymede made me feel a part of the gay poetry world in a way I hadn’t before. I’ve been published in many other journals (many of which are more “respected”), but Ganymede holds a special place in my heart (or is it my groin?).

    I will never meet John face to face, but I will still hold his journal in my hands and read the beautiful work he put together. I hope wherever John is there are beautiful boys and wonderful poems to read.

Leave a Reply

